A partnership with academia

Building knowledge for trade and development

ZAMBIA - Copperbelt University

Members: 12 members
Coordinator: John Lungu
Member type: Core University Members
Member since: 12/07/2011


Copperbelt University
Jambo Drive
Riverside, Kitwe

Phone: +260 968402039
Fax: +260 229354

Website: http://www.cbu.edu.zm

About the university: Copperbelt University (CBU) was established as a Public University on December 1, 1987. CBU initially started with the School of Business and the School of Environmental Studies (later renamed School of Built Environment). Since then the university has grown into six schools and a directorate. In 1989, the Zambia Institute of Technology was incorporated as the School of Technology. In 1995, the School of Forestry and Wood Science was established. In 2001, it was renamed the School of Natural Resources. The Centre for Life Long Education was established in 1990 to run short courses, seminars, conferences and distance education. In 2001, the Centre began offering certificate, diploma and degree programmes.

CBU is one of the three public universities in Zambia and its programmes attract over 5000 applications for the 1200 places available each year. With a total student population of 5,155, CBU has 695 staff members, 207 of whom are academic staff.

Areas of expertise: Market Research and Comparative Competitor Analysis, Mining and Manufacturing Sectors in Zambia, Business Computer Packages for the British American Tobacco, Hedging Practices of Listed Companies in Zambia, Business Development for Small and Medium Enterprises, Corporate Social Responsibility for Mopani Copper Mines, Strategic Planning in Municipal Councils.

Courses offered:
Bachelor of Accountancy (BAcc),
Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA),
Bachelor of Science in Marketing (BSc. MKT),
Bachelor of Science in Banking and Finance (BSc. BF),
Bachelor of Science in Purchasing and Supply (BSc. PS),
Bachelor of Science in Production Management (BSc. PM),
Master of Business Administration (MBA),
Master of Business Administration - Finance (MBA Finance)
Master of Arts in Human Resources Management (MA HRM)
Master of Science in Project Management
Master of Business Administration (Finance) Programme
Master of Arts in Human Resource Management
Master of Business Administration Programme