A partnership with academia

Building knowledge for trade and development

ZIMBABWE - University of Zimbabwe

Members: 9 members
Coordinator: Albert Makochekanwa
Member type: Core University Members
Member since: 15/03/2013


University of Zimbabwe
P.O.Box MP 167
Mount Pleasant
Harare, Zimbabwe

Phone: + 263 43 03 211
Fax: + 263 43 33407
Website: http://www.uz.ac.zw

About the university: The University of Zimbabwe (UZ), located in Harare, was founded in 1952. Since then, the student population has grown from the initial 68 to 11,591, making the university the largest in the country. UZ comprises ten faculties, two trans-disciplinary research institutes and several affiliated education institutions. Currently UZ employs an academic staff of 800.

Areas of expertise:  The Department of Economics is the oldest department at the university, aiming to be a centre of excellence in economics teaching and research in Zimbabwe and Africa. Research areas include trade flows, trade liberalization, migration, inequality, regional integration, currency issues, South-South FDI, Economic Partnership Agreements and climate change.

Courses offered: The Department of Economics offers Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in Economics. These include courses in international, development, environmental, agricultural, industrial, natural resources, and monetary economics, as well as quantitative methods, international trade theory and policy, or macroeconomic theory and policy. The department also provides an executive certificate in international trade and finance.